Women's Tennis Advances Two Pairings To The Quarterfinals Of The Loyola Invitational

Women's Tennis Advances Two Pairings To The Quarterfinals Of The Loyola Invitational

Baltimore, Md. (September 28, 2018) - The Mount St. Mary's women's tennis team advanced two pairings on to the Quarterfinals of the Loyola Invitational on Friday afternoon. The duo of junior Hannah Davis and sophomore Megan Smith were the first Mountaineers to advance to the Quarterfinals while the Mount's second group to advance to the Quarterfinals were junior Alexa Quintanilla and freshman Taylor Cook.


The invitational is a 'Points of the Compass' format, with each team consisting of two players and each round consisting of a doubles match and two singles matches. The winner of the best-of-three advances to the next round. 

Davis and Smith defeated Johns Hopkins' Sophie Saland and Lilian Oliver 2-1 in the opening round. The Mount St. Mary's duo topped the Hopkins' duo 6-1 in the doubles match and Smith downed Oliver 6-1, 7-5 to clinch the match for the Mount but Davis dropped her match to Saland 6-3, 6-4. Davis and Smith will take on Loyola's Kateri Martin and Abigail Thornton in the Quarterfinals tomorrow.

Quintanilla and Cook took down Margo Gerke and Meg Chein, from Johns Hopkins, 3-0 in opening round action. The Mountaineers' pair topped Gerke and Chein 6-3 in doubles competition and in singles action, Quintanilla defeated Gerke 6-2, 6-2 while Cook edged Chein 7-6, 6-7, 10-4 for her first career singles victory. In the Quarterfinals, Quintanilla and Cook will face off against Loyola's Alexandria Agee and Chloe Boustany.

The Mount's final pairing of senior Emma Blake and sophomore Mia Pittman were edged 2-1 by Loyola's Abby Decker and Sandra Aguirre in the opening round of the tournament. Blake and Pittman topped Decker and Aguirre 6-1 in doubles action but Decker downed Pittman 6-0, 6-4 and Aguirre defeated Blake 6-3, 6-0. The Mountaineer duo will battle Johns Hopkins' Sophia Strickland and Evelyn Chang in the Quarterfinals on the Consolation bracket side.

The tournament continues tomorrow starting at 9:00 AM and will conclude Sunday, September 30.