Maddie McGraw Sets New Program Record in 100 Back on Day Three of NEC Championships

Maddie McGraw Sets New Program Record in 100 Back on Day Three of NEC Championships

East Meadow, N.Y. (February 23, 2018) – Junior Maddie McGraw broke her own Mount St. Mary's program record in the 100 backstroke to highlight the third day of the Northeast Conference Championships on Friday night.


McGraw clocked in at 56.51 in the 100 back during preliminary heats in the morning to break her own record of 57.16 which she set earlier this season at the Franklin & Marshall Invitational. McGraw then followed it up by besting her preliminary time with a mark of 55.96 during finals heats to take fourth place in the event.

Juliet Whitman posted the Mount's next best finish of the night, finishing fourth in the 'B' final and 12th overall with a time of 58.98 in the 100 fly.

In the 200 free, JeMoon Won touched the wall in 2:02.27 to take second in the 'C' final and 18th overall in the event.

Juliette Lacoste led the way for the Mountaineers in the 400 IM, placing fourth in the 'C' final and 20th overall in 4:43.76, while Maggie deTar came in right behind Lacoste with a time of 4:46.62.

Lauren Gullickson finished fifth in the 'C' final and took 21st overall in the 100 breast in 1:07.77, as she just missed out on the Mount's program record in the event (1:07.50). Alyssa Felos touched the wall just behind Gullickson with a time of 1:08.72.

Wrapping up the night, the relay team of Mary Lombardi, Brianna Rizzo, Erin Vopalensky and Whitman swam to an eighth-place showing in the 400 medley relay in 4:05.99.

Bryant remains in first with 517 team points heading into the final day of the championships, while Wagner (456 pts.) and Saint Francis U (395.5) sit in second and third, respectively. Central Connecticut (322) and LIU Brooklyn (191.5) hold the middle two spots in the standings, and Sacred Heart (181), St. Francis Brooklyn (153), and Mount St. Mary's (123) round out the final three.

The final day of the championships begin with preliminary heats tomorrow (Feb. 24) at 10 a.m., followed by finals heats at 6 p.m. Watch live action for free at