Women's Golf Slips To Eighth At NEC Women's Golf Championships

Women's Golf Slips To Eighth At NEC Women's Golf Championships

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. - Megan Corbett (Danbury, Conn./Danbury) shot a 78 in the second round of the Northeast Conference (NEC) Women's Golf Championships to move up to 18th place and help the Mount St. Mary's women's golf team to an eighth-place standing on Friday.

Corbett, who is the only player in program history to notch a Top-10 finish at the championships, improved her second round score by nine strokes to move into 18th place with a two-round total of 165, 15 strokes behind the current leader and four strokes from the Top-10. The senior now owns the two-best marks in program history with her 78 in the second round on Friday and a 71 in the second round at the 2009 championships while her 165 two-round total is the third-best mark in team history

Sarah Roe (Floral Park, N.Y./Floral Park Memorial) (20 place, 168), Autumn Serruta (Avon, Conn./Avon) (24th place, 170), Christina Hall (Wall,N.J./Wall) (42nd place, 184) and Nicole Fazio (Lower Gwynedd, Pa./Gwynedd Mercy Academy) (51st place, 201) also competed for the Mountaineers. Roe and Serruta also posted Top-10 two-round marks in program history.

Fairleigh Dickinson, the defending NEC champions, continues to lead the three-day tournament with a score of 622, 32 strokes ahead of Sacred Heart (654) while Robert Morris (657), Saint Francis (Pa.) (658), Wagner (659), Monmouth (674), Long Island (681), the Mount (687), Central Connecticut State (694), St. Francis (N.Y.) (741) and Quinnipiac (832) round out the 11-team field. The Mount posted a 341 in the first round and a 346 in the second round for a two-day total of 687. Both of the two rounds rank in the Top-10 for single rounds while the 687 is the second-best mark in program history at the championships.

Mount St. Mary's concludes its 2010-11 campaign in the final round of the NEC Women's Golf Championships on Saturday. Fazio will be the first to tee off at 8:50 a.m. from the 10th tee and will be followed by Hall (9 a.m.), Serruta (9:10 a.m.), Roe (9:20 a.m.) and Corbett (9:30 a.m.).