CHAMPIONS: Mount St. Mary’s Wins First Northeast Conference Men’s Outdoor Track and Field Championship in 21 Years

CHAMPIONS:  Mount St. Mary’s Wins First Northeast Conference Men’s Outdoor Track and Field Championship in 21 Years


Emmitsburg, Md. (May 6, 2018)—The Mount St. Mary's men's outdoor track and field team came from behind on the last event to secure the team's first Northeast Conference Championship in 21 years on Sunday afternoon at the Mount's Morgan Track.  The women's team finished in third place at the meet for the team's best finish since 2015.

Senior D.J. Workcuff was named the men's Most Valuable Performer while freshman Kayla Barnes took home Most Outstanding Rookie Performer honors.  Workcuff is the first Mountaineer to win the MVP honors on the men's side since Andre Smith in 1992.  Barnes is the first Mountaineer to win NEC Most Outstanding Performer Award since Sara Gardner in 2015, and just the third in program history.

In the men's standings, the Mount captured first place with 172 points, followed by Central Connecticut (170), Saint Francis U (138), LIU Brooklyn (132), Wagner (69), Sacred Heart (62), Bryant (38), Fairleigh Dickinson (29) and St. Francis Brooklyn (9).  It is the Mount's first men's outdoor track and field team championship since 1997.

Sacred Heart won the women's meet with 136.5 points, followed by Central Connecticut (128), Mount St. Mary's (122.5), Robert Morris (120), LIU Brooklyn (112), Saint Francis U (81), Wagner (40), Fairleigh Dickinson (39), Bryant (27) and St. Francis Brooklyn (13).

The men's meet was nip and tuck the entire day with the Mount trailing Central Connecticut by four points heading into the final event, the 4x400m relay.  With Workcuff providing the anchor leg, the Mountaineers finished in second place to secure eight points.  Central Connecticut finished in seventh place in the relay, collecting two points, allowing the Mount to secure the two-point victory in the team standings.

The Mountaineers grabbed a pair of gold medals today en route to the team championship.  Sean Fahey captured first place in the triple jump while the 4x100m relay team of Keiko Martin, Justin Kimble, Andrew Lapreziosa and Workcuff won the gold medal as well.

Fahey had a winning jump of 14.21m (46' 7.5") to take home first place.  He tied for the top spot with Central Connecticut's Kevorni Welsh, but had a better second-place jump to win the tiebreaker and the first-place finish.  The 4x100m relay team had a winning time of 41.43 seconds to finish ahead of second-place LIU Brooklyn (41.54).

Kimble and Workcuff each scored in both the 100m and 200m.  Kimble finished fourth in the 100m (10.75) and third in the 200m (21.73) while Workcuff was sixth in the 100m (10.85) and fifth in the 200m (21.81).  Isaac Kole earned a third-place mark in the 800m with a time of 1:55.48.

In the 1,500m run, Benjamin Finnigan finished in fourth place with a time of 4:07.51 while Scott Baker also scored in the event with an eighth-place finish (4:09.15).  Nicolas Fransham earned a silver medal in the 5,000m run with a time of 14:42.94, outsprinting Central Connecticut's Alex Norstrom down the stretch to seal his second-place mark.

In the 3,000m steeplechase, Mitchel Wileczek finished in fifth place (9:43.73) with Chris Evans placing eighth (10:07.89).  In field events, Chris Wray took home second place in the high jump for the second consecutive year, clearing 1.99m (6' 6.25").  In the hammer throw, Brenden Chavis finished in second place with a toss of 54.34m (178' 3") with Matthew Selba (5th, 50.37m, 165' 3") and Zachary Delker (7th, 42.47m, 138' 8") also scoring in the event.  Christopher Gabor brought home a third-place finish in the javelin with a toss of 56.50m (185' 4").

The 4x400m relay team of Brady Altland, Andrew Humm, Brandon Briscoe and Workcuff finished in second place with a time of 3:21.03 to secure the Mount's team championship.

Four gold medal performances lifted the Mount women's team to a third-place finish at the meet.  Barnes won gold in both the 100m and 200m, Moriah Fitzgerald was the winner in the pole vault in record-breaking fashion, and the 4x400m relay team of Mariah McLane, Chardane Logan, Chalys Caruth and Clarke Hooper grabbed first place honors to lead the Mountaineers.

Barnes won the 100m dash with a time of 11.97 seconds and followed with a mark of 24.47 seconds in the 200m dash to capture her second gold medal of the day.  McLane led a trio of Mountaineers to score in the 400m dash, finishing fourth with a time of 57.47.  Caruth finished seventh (58.33) and Logan eighth (58.70) in the event.

Hooper provided the Mountaineers with a third-place finish in the 800m (2:16.09) while Najae Nickerson finished third in the 100m hurdles (14.69).  Isabel Ross collected a silver medal with a second-place finish in the 400m hurdles (1:03.05) with Nickerson finishing in eighth place (1:07.13) in the event.

Fitzgerald won the pole vault, clearing an NEC-record 3.85m (12' 7.5"), breaking the old mark of 3.80m set by the Mount's Elissa Ingram in 2013.  Rachel Finn also scored for the Mount in the pole vault with a fifth place (3.70m, 12' 1.5"). 

Erin Sample added a third-place toss in the hammer throw (48.43m, 158' 11") while Alexandra Kay chipped in eighth place in the 3,000m steeplechase (12:10.13) and Brianna Youtzy was eighth in the javelin (33.52m, 110').