Men's Lacrosse Hosts No. 18 Bucknell on Sunday

Men's Lacrosse Hosts No. 18 Bucknell on Sunday

MOUNT ST. MARY'S (0-1) vs. No. 18 Bucknell (1-0)
Saturday, February 17, 2013, 1:00 p.m.
Waldron Family Stadium, Emmitsburg, Md.

MOUNT UPDATE:  Mount St. Mary's opened the 2013 season with a 23-6 loss at No. 2 Maryland on Tuesday.  Cody Lehrer led the Mount with a goal and three assists while Andrew Scalley chipped in a pair of goals.  Freshman Frankie McCarthy made seven saves in 30 minutes of action against the Terrapins.

BUCKNELL UPDATE:  Bucknell downed Delaware, 9-8, in its season opener behind three goals from Todd Heritage.  David Dickson had three assists with Thomas Flibotte and Brock Ghelfi each scoring twice.  Goalkeeper Kyle Feeney made 11 saves in the victory.

THE ALL-TIME SERIES:  Bucknell holds a 13-0 lead in the all-time series that dates back to 1996.  This is the first meeting between the two teams since a 14-6 Bucknell victory on March 8, 2008. 

THE MOUNT vs. RANKED OPPONENTS:  Mount St. Mary's is 4-47 all-time against ranked opponents since moving to NCAA Division I in 1988-89.  Last year, the Mount earned wins over #16 Delaware (12-10) and #20 Robert Morris (16-15, ot).  This season, the Mount faces No. 2 Maryland, No. 4 Johns Hopkins, No. 7 Virginia and No. 18 Bucknell.  In addition, three Mount opponents, Drexel, Delaware and Georgetown are all receiving votes in the USILA Top 20 as well.

PRESEASON RANKINGS:  The Mount was picked to finish in second place in the annual Northeast Conference Preseason Coaches Poll.  Defending champion Bryant was picked first, followed by the Mount, Robert Morris, Quinnipiac, Sacred Heart and Wagner.

THE NORTHEAST CONFERENCE:  The Northeast Conference will be in its third season sponsoring men's lacrosse in 2013.  The six schools include the Mount, Bryant, Quinnipiac, Robert Morris, Sacred Heart and Wagner.  This year, the winner of the NEC Tournament earns an automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament.

100-POINT SCORERS:  The Mount has four players with 100 career points in Andrew Scalley (158, 12th all-time at MSM), Brett Schmidt (138, 15th all-time as MSM), Cody Lehrer (128, 18th all-time at MSM) and Bryant Schmidt (102, 22nd) all-time at MSM.  It is the first time in school history that the Mount has had four players with 100 or more career points on the roster at the same time.

SCHMIDT'S GOAL SCORING STREAK CONTINUES:  Senior attack Brett Schmidt has scored at least one goal in each of his past 29 games, the second longest streak in the country behind Army's Garrett Thul (41 games).  Schmidt has scored 63 goals during his 29-game goal streak, which began on March 9, 2011.

TOP GOAL SCORERS:  Andrew Scalley, Cody Lehrer and Brett Schmidt are among the top 15 career goal scorers in the nation.  Scalley is currently fifth in the nation with 101 career goals, Lehrer is sixth with 97, and Schmidt is 15th with 81.

CHASING WARNER:  Andrew Scalley and Cody Lehrer are chasing Matt Warner for the Mount's all-time goal record.  Warner scored a school-record 138 goals for the Mount from 2003-06, just one ahead of second-place Steve Ricker (137, 1997-00).  Scalley is currently 10th all-time at the Mount with 101 goals while Lehrer is tied for 11th with 97 career tallies.

138, Matt Warner (2003-06)
137, Steve Ricker (1997-00)
134, Matt Mundorf (1986-89)
128, Greg Tolker (1985-88)
114, Josh Warfield (2000-03)
112, Roland Miller (1995-98)
108, Brian Barry (1973-76)
106, Charlie Horning (1989-92)
103, Mike McNulty (1987-90)
101, Andrew Scalley (2010-pres.)
97, Cody Lehrer (2009-pres.)

WELCOME BACK:  Attack Cody Lehrer, midfielder Eric Ososki and long stick midfielder Mark Burns return to the Mount lineup this season after sitting out as redshirts in 2012.  Lehrer has 96 goals and 28 assists for 124 career points in 47 games at the Mount.  Ososki has tallied 28 goals and 17 assists for 45 points in 35 games at the Mount while Burns has six goals and three assists while picking up 69 ground balls in 37 career games.

HEAD COACH TOM GRAVANTE:  Head coach Tom Gravante is in his 18th season on the Mount sidelines.  Gravante was been named Northeast Conference Coach of the Year in 2010 and 2011, and guided the Mount to the NCAA Tournament in 2003 and 2010.  A four-time MAAC Coach of the Year,  and he was named the MAAC Coach of the Year on four occasions.  Gravante broke former Mount coach Randy Kilgore's school record for career wins with his 121st career victory in the Mount's 16-7 win at Wagner last season. He has an all-time record of 122-146.

HAT TRICKS:  Twins Brett and Bryant Schmidt have recorded hat tricks in the same game four times in their careers.  The list of games includes Wagner (April 28, 2012), Michigan (March 24, 2012), VMI (March 10, 2012) and Quinnipiac (May 8, 2011).

HAT TRICKS (PART 2):  Eight different players on the Mount roster have recorded a hat trick in their career.  Cody Lehrer and Andrew Scalley lead the list with 16 career hat tricks each, followed by Brett Schmidt with 11.  The rest of the list includes Bryant Schmidt (8), Jake Willertz (3), Eric Ososki (2), Anthony Golden (2) and Daniel Stranix (1).

UP NEXT:  The Mount hosts Delaware on Saturday, February 23, at 12:00 p.m. at Waldron Family Stadium on campus.