Mount Men's Lacrosse Opens 2013 Season at No. 2 Maryland on Tuesday

Mount Men's Lacrosse Opens 2013 Season at No. 2 Maryland on Tuesday

MOUNT ST. MARY'S (0-0) at No. 2 MARYLAND (0-0)
Tuesday, February 12,2013, 5:00 p.m.
Capital One Field at Byrd Stadium, College Park, Md.

MOUNT UPDATE:  Mount St. Mary's opens the 2013 season at No. 2 Maryland on Tuesday afternoon.  The Mountaineers advanced to the Northeast Conference Championship game last year, falling to Bryant, 12-6.  The Mount finished the 2012 season with a 6-9 record, but had two wins over teams ranked in the top 20.  Andrew Scalley, Brett Schmidt and Bryant Schmidt tied for the team lead with 29 goals each last year.  Scalley led the way in points with 53, while Brett Schmidt added 48 and Bryant Schmidt 36.    

ABOUT THE TERRAPINS:  Maryland is coming off a 12-6 season that saw them reach the NCAA Tournament championship game for the second consecutive season.  Joe Cummings led Maryland with 31 goals and 50 points last year while Owen Blye tallied 20 goals and 20 assists for 40 points.  John Haus (16g, 17a) and Drew Snider (24g, 7a) also topped 30 points last season.

THE ALL-TIME SERIES:  The Mount is 0-9 all-time against Maryland in the all-time series that began in 1988.  Last season, the Mount lost 12-8 to the Terrapins at Waldron Family Stadium.  The Mountaineers are 0-6 all-time against Maryland on the road, including an 18-3 loss on March 20, 2007, the last time the teams met in College Park.

THE MOUNT vs. RANKED OPPONENTS:  Mount St. Mary's is 4-46 all-time against ranked opponents since moving to NCAA Division I in 1988-89.  Last year, the Mount earned wins over #16 Delaware (12-10) and #20 Robert Morris (16-15, ot).  This season, the Mount will face No. 2 Maryland, No. 4 Johns Hopkins, No. 7 Virginia and No. 18 Bucknell.  In addition, three Mount opponents, Drexel, Delaware and Georgetown are all receiving votes in the USILA Top 20 as well.  The Mount has played the No. 2 team in the nation seven times, going 0-7 in those games.  The last time the Mount played the No. 2 team was a 15-7 loss to No. 2 Virginia on Feb. 23, 2010.

PRESEASON RANKINGS:  The Mount was picked to finish in second place in the annual Northeast Conference Preseason Coaches Poll.  Defending champion Bryant was picked first, followed by the Mount, Robert Morris, Quinnipiac, Sacred Heart and Wagner.

THE NORTHEAST CONFERENCE:  The Northeast Conference will be in its third season sponsoring men's lacrosse in 2013.  The six schools include the Mount, Bryant, Quinnipiac, Robert Morris, Sacred Heart and Wagner.  This year, the winner of the NEC Tournament earns an automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament.

100-POINT SCORERS:  The Mount has four players with 100 career points in Andrew Scalley (154, 12th all-time at MSM), Brett Schmidt (136, T15th all-time as MSM), Cody Lehrer (124, 18th all-time at MSM) and Bryant Schmidt (101, T22nd) all-time at MSM.  It is the first time in school history that the Mount has had four players with 100 or more career points on the roster at the same time.

SCHMIDT'S GOAL SCORING STREAK CONTINUES:  Senior attack Brett Schmidt has scored at least one goal in each of his past 28 games, the second longest streak in the country behind Army's Garrett Thul (40games).  Schmidt has scored 62 goals during his 28-game goal streak, which began on March 9, 2011.

TOP GOAL SCORERS:  Andrew Scalley, Cody Lehrer and Brett Schmidt are among the top 15 career goal scorers in the nation.  Scalley is currently fifth in the nation with 99 career goals, Lehrer is sixth with 96, and Schmidt is 15th with 80.

CHASING WARNER:  Andrew Scalley and Cody Lehrer are chasing Matt Warner for the Mount's all-time goal record.  Warner scored a school-record 138 goals for the Mount from 2003-06, just one ahead of second-place Steve Ricker (137, 1997-00).  Scalley is currently 10th all-time at the Mount with 99 goals while Lehrer is tied for 11th with 96 career tallies.

138, Matt Warner (2003-06)
137, Steve Ricker (1997-00)
134, Matt Mundorf (1986-89)
128, Greg Tolker (1985-88)
114, Josh Warfield (2000-03)
112, Roland Miller (1995-98)
108, Brian Barry (1973-76)
106, Charlie Horning (1989-92)
103, Mike McNulty (1987-90)
99, Andrew Scalley (2010-pres.)
96, Cody Lehrer (2009-pres.)

WELCOME BACK:  Attack Cody Lehrer, midfielder Eric Ososki and long stick midfielder Mark Burns return to the Mount lineup this season after sitting out as redshirts in 2012.  Lehrer has 96 goals and 28 assists for 124 career points in 47 games at the Mount.  Ososki has tallied 28 goals and 17 assists for 45 points in 35 games at the Mount while Burns has six goals and three assists while picking up 69 ground balls in 37 career games.

HEAD COACH TOM GRAVANTE:  Head coach Tom Gravante is in his 18th season on the Mount sidelines.  Gravante was been named Northeast Conference Coach of the Year in 2010 and 2011, and guided the Mount to the NCAA Tournament in 2003 and 2010.  A four-time MAAC Coach of the Year,  and he was named the MAAC Coach of the Year on four occasions.  Gravante broke former Mount coach Randy Kilgore's school record for career wins with his 121st career victory in the Mount's 16-7 win at Wagner last season. He has an all-time record of 122-145.

HAT TRICKS:  Twins Brett and Bryant Schmidt have recorded hat tricks in the same game four times in their careers.  The list of games includes Wagner (April 28, 2012), Michigan (March 24, 2012), VMI (March 10, 2012) and Quinnipiac (May 8, 2011).

HAT TRICKS (PART 2):  Eight different players on the Mount roster have recorded a hat trick in their career.  Cody Lehrer and Andrew Scalley lead the list with 16 career hat tricks each, followed by Brett Schmidt with 11.  The rest of the list includes Bryant Schmidt (8), Jake Willertz (3), Eric Ososki (2), Anthony Golden (2) and Daniel Stranix (1).

UP NEXT:  The Mount hosts No. 18 Bucknell on Sunday, February 17, at 1:00 p.m. at Waldron Family Stadium on campus.