Mount Cross Country Teams Ready for Northeast Conference Championships on Saturday

Mount Cross Country Teams Ready for Northeast Conference Championships on Saturday

Northeast Conference Championships
Saturday, October 28, 2017
Stanley Quarter Park, New Britain, Conn.

Men's NEC Championship Page | Women's NEC Championship Page

Men's Race (8K):  11:00 a.m. | Women's Race (5K):  12:00 p.m.

Results: Will be available at and following the race.

LAST TIME OUT:  Nicolas Fransham captured first place to lead the Mount St. Mary's cross country teams at the Gettysburg Invitational.  Fransham, who topped the field of 254 runners, posted a time of 25:40.2 for the eight-kilometer course to bring home individual honors and help the Mountaineers to a second-place team finish.  Clarke Hooper was the women's top finisher as the Mountaineers finished seventh in the field of 31 schools.


LAST YEAR AT THE NEC CHAMPIONSHIPS:  Maddie Kole earned Northeast Conference Freshman of the Year and All-Northeast Conference honors after finishing as the top freshman at the Northeast Conference Championships, hosted by Saint Francis University today.  Nicolas Fransham earned All-NEC honors to pace the men's team to a fourth-place finish at the meet.  The Mount women finished sixth.

Kole completed the five-kilometer course in a time of 20:05.8 to finish in seventh place overall at the meet to earn All-NEC honors.  She is the first Mountaineer to earn All-NEC honors in cross country since Stephanie Borland and Kristen Galligan did in 2013.

Fransham led the Mountaineer men's team, finishing 12th overall at the meet to earn All-NEC honors.  He is the first Mountaineer to earn All-NEC honors on the men's side since Tommy Gruschow and Chris Swisko did in 2012.  He completed the eight-kilometer course in a time of 28:16.8.


MOUNT HISTORY AT THE NEC CHAMPIONSHIPS: The Mount has had a storied history at the NEC Championships since joining the league in 1988-89. The men's team won the title four consecutive seasons (1995-98) while the women's team won the title in 1991 in addition to a three-year run from 1994-96. 

Men's Team
Kip Cheruiyot (1989)
Bernard Kitur (1994 and 1995)
Daniel Kinyua (1997 and 1998)

Women's Team
Nadine Jamerson (1992)
Rebeccah Wassner (1994 and 1996)
Robin Kloster (1995)
Jessica Totaro (1997)

Men's Coach of the Year
Mike Merritt (1995-98)

Women's Coach of the Year
Mike Merritt (1994, 1996)

Men's Freshman of the Year
Cleophus Koros (2002)
Matt Logie (2005)

Women's Freshman of the Year
Maddie Kole (2016)
Megan Kinsella (2009)
Roberta Pickens (1996)

Men's All-Conference Selections
Bernard Kitur (1993, 1994, 1995)
Shawn McElhaugh (1994, 1995)
Richard Bush (1995)
Brian Rosenberg (1995, 1996, 1997)
Aaron Price (1996, 1997)
Dan Shaffer (1996, 1998)
Ryan Walsh (1996)
Daniel Kinyua (1997, 1998)
Tim Kitching (1997, 1998, 1999, 2000)
Shawn Day (2001)
Cleophus Koros (2002)
Zach Emerson (2006, 2007, 2008)
Matt Logie (2005, 2006, 2007, 2008)
Dylan Bernard (2008, 2009, 2010, 2011)
Kyle Ryan (2008)
Tommy Gruschow (2012)
Chris Swisko (2012)
Nicolas Fransham (2016)

Women's All-Conference Selections
Rebecca Wassner (1993, 1994, 1995, 1996)
Amy Linson (1993)
Sarah Johnson (1993)
Robin Kloster (1994, 1995, 1996)
Stella Cinoa (1994)
Heather Moul (1994, 1995, 1996)
Amy DeBor (1995, 1996, 1997)
Jess Totaro (1995, 1996, 1997)
Farrah Ryan (1995)
Lisa Prey (1996)
Sheila Valentine (1996)
Stacy Valentine (1996)
Stacy Stoner (1997)
Sarah Wassner (1997)
Leah Pfeiffer (1998)
Kari McCarty (2001)
Brittany McCann (2003, 2005)
Terri Gibbons (2004)
Megan Kinsella (2009, 2010)
Kristen Galligan (2013)
Stephanie Borland (2013)
Maddie Kole (2016)