Mount St. Mary's Cross Country Headed to NEC Championships on Saturday

Mount St. Mary's Cross Country Headed to NEC Championships on Saturday

Northeast Conference Championships
Saturday, October 27, 2012
Bryant University
Official NEC Championships Website

Women's Race (5K):  11:00a.m.
Men's Race (8K):
  12 p.m.
Results: Will be available at and following the race.

MOUNT UPDATE:  Mount St. Mary's heads to the 2012 NEC Cross Country Championships on Saturday.  The Mount was last in action at the Delaware Blue and Gold Invitational on October 12th.  Tommy Gruschow finished in second place to pace the men's team while the women were led by McKenzie Doyle's 15th-place finish.

LAST YEAR AT THE NEC CHAMPIONSHIPS:  The Mount St. Mary's men's cross country team finished in third place at the Northeast Conference Championships on a cold and snowy day at Holmdel Park last year.  Senior Dylan Bernard finished fourth overall to earn All-NEC honors to pace the men.  The Mount women's team finished eighth.

Bernard finished the 8-kilometer course in a time of 26:40.10 to finish fourth overall.  He becomes the third Mountaineer to earn All-Northeast Conference honors all four years, joining Tim Kitching (1997-2000) and former teammate Matt Logie (2005-08).

Junior Chris Swisko, senior Gigi Gibilisco, and freshmen Kevin Pitts and Tommy Gruschow rounded out the Mount's top five.  Swisko was 25th overall with a time of 27:50.00 with Gibilisco 28th at a time of 27:40.30.  Pitts was 30th with a mark of 28:03.50 while Gruschow was 45th with a mark of 28:25.50.

Central Connecticut State took home first place (54 points), followed by Saint Francis (Pa.) (67), the Mount (131), Monmouth (133), Robert Morris (163), Quinnipiac (171), Wagner (173), Sacred Heart (178), St. Francis (N.Y.) (185), Bryant (195), Long Island (305) and Fairleigh Dickinson (326).

Senior Megan Kinsella was the Mount's top finisher on the women's side, finishing 30th overall with a time 20:06.20 for the 5-kilometer course.  Freshman McKenzie Doyle was the Mount's second-fastest, placing 43rd overall at 20:28.0.  The remainder of the Mount's top five included Desi Scott (49th, 20:25), Kathryn Franke (57th, 21:09.70) and Colleen Smith (66th, 21:34.60).

Quinnipiac won the meet with 44 points, followed by Sacred Heart (75), Monmouth (91), Central Connecticut State (99), Saint Francis (Pa.) (107), Robert Morris (147), Bryant (192), Mount St. Mary's (221), Wagner (229), St. Francis (N.Y.) (283), Fairleigh Dickinson (332) and Long Island (383).

MOUNT HISTORY AT THE NEC CHAMPIONSHIPS: The Mount has had a storied history at the NEC Championships since joining the league in 1988-89. The men's team won the title four consecutive seasons (1995-98) while the women's team won the title in 1991 in addition to a three-year run from 1994-96. 

Men's Team
Kip Cheruiyot (1989)
Bernard Kitur (1994 and 1995)
Daniel Kinyua (1997 and 1998)

Women's Team
Nadine Jamerson (1992)
Rebeccah Wassner (1994 and 1996)
Robin Kloster (1995)
Jessica Totaro (1997)

Men's Coach of the Year
Mike Merritt (1995-98)

Women's Coach of the Year
Mike Merritt (1994, 1996)

Men's Freshman of the Year
Cleophus Koros (2002)
Matt Logie (2005)

Women's Freshman of the Year
Megan Kinsella (2009)
Roberta Pickens (1996)

Men's All-Conference Selections
Bernard Kitur (1993, 1994, 1995)
Shawn McElhaugh (1994, 1995)
Richard Bush (1995)
Brian Rosenberg (1995, 1996, 1997)
Aaron Price (1996, 1997)
Dan Shaffer (1996, 1998)
Ryan Walsh (1996)
Daniel Kinyua (1997, 1998)
Tim Kitching (1997, 1998, 1999, 2000)
Shawn Day (2001)
Cleophus Koros (2002)
Zach Emerson (2006, 2007, 2008)
Matt Logie (2005, 2006, 2007, 2008)
Dylan Bernard (2008, 2009, 2010, 2011)
Kyle Ryan (2008)

Women's All-Conference Selections
Rebecca Wassner (1993, 1994, 1995, 1996)
Amy Linson (1993)
Sarah Johnson (1993)
Robin Kloster (1994, 1995, 1996)
Stella Cinoa (1994)
Heather Moul (1994, 1995, 1996)
Amy DeBor (1995, 1996, 1997)
Jess Totaro (1995, 1996, 1997)
Farrah Ryan (1995)
Lisa Prey (1996)
Sheila Valentine (1996)
Stacy Valentine (1996)
Stacy Stoner (1997)
Sarah Wassner (1997)
Leah Pfeiffer (1998)
Kari McCarty (2001)
Brittany McCann (2003, 2005)
Terri Gibbons (2004)
Megan Kinsella (2009, 2010)

UP NEXT:  The Mount returns to action Friday, November 9, at the NCAA Mid-Atlantic Regional Championships at University Park, Pa.

Cross Country Heads to Bryant
September 7, 2012 Cross Country Heads to Bryant