Mount Women's Lacrosse Earns Northeast Conference Team Sportsmanship Award

Mount Women's Lacrosse Earns Northeast Conference Team Sportsmanship Award

Somerset, N.J. (June 3, 2014) – The Mount St. Mary's women's lacrosse team earned the Northeast Conference Spring Team Sportsmanship Award, it was announced Tuesday by the league office.

The award program, conceived by league Presidents, is designed to acknowledge the team in each conference sport that, in the opinion of its peers, most closely demonstrates good sportsmanship based on the NEC Principles of Sportsmanship and Standards of Conduct. Voting is conducted at the conclusion of each season by each team captain and head coach, who rank teams within the conference based on a predetermined set of criteria.

On the field, the Mount women's lacrosse team was led by First Team All-NEC performer Gabe Little, as well as Second Team honorees Lindsay Diaz and Lily O'Beirne and All-Rookie Team member Sammie Knapp. The Mount finished tied for fifth in the NEC regular season standings.

The women's lacrosse team is the second Mount St. Mary's squad to earn the Team Sportsmanship Award, following the women's soccer team's selection at the conclusion of the fall season.

2014 Spring Sportsmanship Award Winners
Baseball - Central Connecticut
Men's Golf - LIU Brooklyn
Women's Golf - Robert Morris
Men's Lacrosse - Saint Joseph's
Women's Lacrosse - Mount St. Mary's
Men's Outdoor Track & Field - Robert Morris
Women's Outdoor Track & Field - Sacred Heart
Softball - Wagner
Men's Tennis - Saint Francis U
Women's Tennis - LIU Brooklyn