Mount St. Mary's Women's Lacrosse Opens 2013 Season at La Salle on Saturday

Mount St. Mary's Women's Lacrosse Opens 2013 Season at La Salle on Saturday

MOUNT ST. MARY'S (0-0) at LASALLE (0-0)
Saturday, February 16, 2013, 1 p.m.
Philadelphia, Pa.

MOUNT UPDATE:  Mount St. Mary's opens the 2013 season at La Salle on Saturday afternoon. Fresh off its second-straight NEC Tournament Championship Game appearance, the Mount returns three of its top five scorers from last season. Senior Kaitlyn Larrimore (Pylesville, Md./North Harford) paced the team with 31 goals and four assists for 35 points while 2012 All-Rookie team selection Erin Seipp (Towson, Md./Notre Dame Preparatory) was third on the squad with 23 tallies and eight assists for 31 points. Junior Lindsey Diaz (Timonium, Md./Dulaney) was fourth with 19 goals for 19 points and paced the team with 64 draw controls to earn a spot on the All-NEC second team.

ABOUT LA SALLE:  La Salle returns six of its top seven scorers from last year's team that finished with a school-record 10 victories.  The Explorers finished 2012 with a 10-6 record.  Senior Melanie Sarcinello returns after leading the team with 39 points on 33 goals and six assists last year.  Sophomore Caitlyn Brostrand had a team-high 36 goals in 2012.

THE ALL-TIME SERIES: This will be the first-ever meeting between the Mount and La Salle.

PRESEASON POLL:  Mount St. Mary's was been picked to finish third, according to the Northeast Conference (NEC) Women's Lacrosse Preseason Coaches Poll.  Monmouth, the defending NEC Tournament champions, has been tabbed as the preseason favorite while Quinnipiac picked up the final two first-place nods to place second in the poll. It will be the Hawks and Bobcats last year in the league with both programs slated to move to the Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference in 2014. The Mount finished third in the poll and was followed by Central Connecticut State, Robert Morris, Sacred Heart, Bryant, Wagner, Saint Francis and LIU Brooklyn.

NEC HONORS IN 2012:  Meaghan Conlon highlighted six Mount St. Mary's women's lacrosse players honored by the Northeast Conference (NEC) with an All-NEC first-team selection last year.  Jen Semler, Esther Rufolo, Lindsay Diaz and Gabe Little were named to the All-NEC second team. Freshman Erin Seipp was selected to the NEC All-Rookie team.

NEXT UP:  The Mount heads to Johns Hopkins on Wednesday, February 20.