Mount St. Mary's Track and Field Set to Host 2017 Northeast Conference Outdoor Track and Field Championships

Mount St. Mary's Track and Field Set to Host 2017 Northeast Conference Outdoor Track and Field Championships

May 6-7, 2017, Morgan Track, Emmitsburg, Md.


The Mount St. Mary's University men's and women's outdoor track and field teams host the 2017 Northeast Conference Outdoor Track and Field Championships this weekend at Morgan Track.


All NEC students with proper institutional I.D. will be admitted free. All other individuals will be charged admission. Ticket prices are $10 per day for adults, $5 per day for those under 18. Children 10 years of age and under will be admitted free. Two-day tickets also will be available, $15 for adults and $8 for children 10 to 18 years of age. All tickets will be sold at the entrance of the complex.


Parking will be available in the gravel lots next to Knott Arena.  The address for Mount St. Mary's University is 16300 Old Emmitsburg Road, Emmitsburg, MD 21727.  The track is on the athletic side of campus, follow signs for the PNC Sports Complex.

NEC Weekly Honors

The Mount's outdoor track and field team received eight total weekly honors throughout the outdoor regular season between six different athletes.  Julian Woods won NEC Track Athlete of the Week honors twice (May 2 and March 28) while Kelly Yanucil won NEC Field Athlete of the Weeks twice as well (May 2, April 4).  Brian Sagendorf (Field, March 28), Justin Kimble (Rookie, April 4), Matthew Selba (Rookie, March 28) and Natalia Hinton (April 11) also won NEC weekly awards this spring.

NCAA East Preliminary

The top 48 athletes in the East qualify for the NCAA East Preliminary.  At this point of the season, the Mount has four athletes ranked in the top 48 in the East.  Kelly Yanucil ranks eighth in the East in the javelin (51.75m), Julian Woods 17th in the East in 400m hurdles (51.72) and 48th in the 110m hurdles (14.27), Brian Sagendorf is 34th in the javelin (64.50m) and Natalia Hinton is 41st in the long jump (6.09m).

Mount Athletes on the NEC Performance Lists (Ranked in the top 5 in the NEC this year)

Men's Team
100m:  Justin Kimble (T5th, 10.82), D.J. Workcuff (T5th, 10.82)
10,000m:  Nick Fransham (4th, 31:17.38)
110m Hurdles:  Julian Woods (4th, 14.27)
400m Hurdles:  Julian Woods (1st, 51.72)
3000m Steeplechase:  Chris Evans (4th, 9:45.93)
4x100m Relay:  3rd, 41.76
High Jump:  D.J. Workcuff (T4th, 1.9m, 6' 2.75")
Pole Vault: Colin Waitzman (1st, 4.51m, 14' 9.5")
Long Jump:  D.J. Workcuff (3rd, 6.70m, 21' 11.75")
Discus: Matthew Selba (3rd, 48.02m, 157' 6"), Alex Devin (4th, 46.29m, 151' 10"), Brenden Chavis (5th, 46.02m, 151')
Hammer Throw:  Chase Boyle (1st, 55.75m, 182' 11"), Brenden Chavis (3rd, 54.72m, 179' 6")
Javelin:  Brian Sagendorf (1st, 64.50m, 211' 7")

Women's Team
400m:  Mariah McLane (3rd, 57.25)
100m Hurdles: Natalia Hinton (5th, 14.68)
4x400m Relay:  3rd, 3:53.40
Pole Vault:  Moriah Fitzgerald (T1st, 3.70m, 12' 1.5"), Elissa Ingram (T3rd, 3.55m, 11' 7.75")
Long Jump:  Natalia Hinton (1st, 6.09m, 19' 11.75"), Isabel Ross (3rd, 5.47m, 17' 11.5")
Triple Jump:  Shantell Karbegh (4th, 11.27m, 36' 11.75")
Shot Put:  Erin Sample (2nd, 13.80m, 45' 3.5")
Javelin:  Kelly Yanucil (1st, 51.75m, 169' 9")

The Mount and the NEC Championships

The Mount men's team won the NEC title in 1991, 1996 and 1997.
The Mount women's team has won the NEC title in 1993, 1995, 1996, 1997, 1998

Men's Most Outstanding Performer
Peter Rono (1991), Andrew Smith (1992), Corey Brown (Field, 2007), Chad Brown (Track, 2010)

Rookie of the Meet
Coby Rosemier-Gussio (2012), D.J. Workcuff (2015), Brian Sagendorf (2016)

Men's Coach of the Year
Mike Merritt (1996)

Women's Outstanding Performer
Laure Smith (1991 and 1992), Rebeccah Wassner (1997), Nina Victorin (Field, 2006), Ashley DeCruise (Track, 2011)

Rookie of the Meet
Ashlyn DeCruise (2008), Sarah Gardner (2015)

Women's Coach of the Year
Mike Merritt (1995, 1996, 1998)